RIAI NEWS ALERT Council resignations and governance

by Bregs Blog admin team


The following email was circulated to all RIAI members on November 19th 2014

7 council resignations followed on from revelations at an RIAI AGM in xx regarding accounts, governance and conflicts of interest of staff members. We are not aware of any formal record or minutes of that AGM that have been circulated to members. However a record of a subsequent EGM have been circulated, but although the resignations occurred on the morning preceeding that event, no discussion was made of the governance issues noted. Subsequently press articles concerning these resignations has been posted in the Irish Times and Sunday Times (see below).



Following the unexpected resignations, on the afternoon of the EGM of 4 November 2014, of six Council members, a special meeting of the Council was held last Thursday with the 17 Council members who continue to work on behalf of the members.

A report of this meeting will issue to members shortly with a detailed response to the issues raised, along with a short statement by Council. In the interim, the President considers that the following statements from the Honorary Treasurer, Garrett O’Neill, and the Honorary Secretary, Anne Kiernan, should be issued to all members.

Statement from Garrett O’Neill, Honorary Treasurer:

“In my opinion there are no irregularities in the management and reporting of the accounts of the RIAI.”

Statement from Anne Kiernan, Honorary Secretary:

“Following the letter sent to the Council by the six members who subsequently resigned, I have reviewed the specific criticisms of the management of the Institute. As Honorary Secretary, I am happy to advise that I have found no issues of concern regarding malpractice or irregularities in our governance or management structures.”

Council 2014

Robin Mandal               Ali Grehan

Fionnuala Rogerson      Michael Grace

Claire McManus            Eoin O’Morain

Anne Kiernan               Brendan Gallagher

Garrett O’Neill              Kevin Smyth

Michelle Fagan             John Ruane

Toal Ó Muiré                Fionan de Barra

Grainne Shaffrey          Joe Kennedy

Angela Brady